The Most Dangerous Thing You Do Everyday

You know how sometimes you’re sitting down, watching  TV and then suddenly during a commercial break a local TV station gives you a teaser for the evening news?  It’s usually something along the lines of “Tune in to news channel 6 tonight at 9:00 to find out what is in your child’s lunch box that could be killing them. *cue subtly ominous music* Death in the lunchroom…tonight at 9:00.”

Pretty scary right?  I don’t even have kids that are school age, but by Jove I’m tuning in because it’s killing the children!!!!

Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is that I feel like the title of this post is kind of like that.  Intentionally dramatic to catch your attention.  Hey, at least I admit it right? 

I saw the following infographic a few months ago and have been meaning to share it here on MichaelGrayFitness.com for while.  It talks about the dangerous act of sitting.  Yup, you read that right, sitting.  Sitting on your butt for hours at a time can have some incredibly negative effects on your health.  Check it out, and be sure and share on Facebook and Twitter!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Most Dangerous Thing You Do Everyday

  1. Amazing article! Wow! Some pretty amazing facts there. Some of the text was really hard to read (maybe my computer screen isn’t working well – the words were pretty broken up in places), but the article was very informative. I sort of felt like I should stand up while I was reading it. Thanks for sending it.

  2. Hi Mike! I’m a friend of Crystal’s 🙂 This concerns me since I have a desk job! I am athletic and in good shape, exercise three – four times per week and am an active and healthy person. I think I probably sit for about 6-7 hours per day at work, broken up some. When I have to be sitting at my computer, would it help to do things like bounce my legs and move my legs around? I’m pretty fidgety anyway, would that do anything? What about if I use one of those medicine ball chairs, would that change the sitting dynamic to one that doesn’t shut my body down as much? I work very hard to keep myself healthy and would hate to be taken down by a chair! Let me know what you think, thanks!

    • @Angela: One of the best things you can do is to get up and move as much as possible, even if its just for a minute. Beyond that, making sure you are up and as active as you can be outside of the work day can do a lot in combating the effects of sitting.

Leave a Reply

