What Do Fitness Professionals Eat?

I thought it would make for a really interesting post to see what some big names within the fitness industry eat on a daily basis.  So, I contacted some friends and some fellow trainers to see if they would be willing to share what their typical diet looked like.

Thankfully, they’re all generous people and were happy to help out. Enjoy!

  NIA SHANKS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Protein.

That is what my nutrition has been focused upon the past several weeks. I like experimenting with my training and  nutrition, and lately I’ve been tracking my protein intake to see if a higher amount (at least 1.5 grams/pound of bodyweight) has a positive impact on my performance and body composition.

Because I am eating a lot more protein than usual (and having to make an effort to do so), here is what a couple days of typical eating looks like for me.

Training Day Example
-Meal 1 (around 12pm): sardines with hot sauce, one cup of cottage cheese, and usually a vegetable

-Meal 2 (around 3pm before training): 30 gram protein shake

-Meal 3 (around 5pm post training): 30 gram protein shake

-Meal 4 (around 6:30pm): Grassfed ribeye steak, homemade mashed potatoes, and green beans

-Meal 5 (a little after dinner): Ice cream. I usually eat ice cream once per week, and I do so after a training session. Why? Because I love ice cream.

Non Training Day Example
-Meal 1 (around 12pm): smoked salmon, one cup of Greek yogurt, and usually a vegetable

-Meal 2 (around 3pm): protein shake or something similar

-Meal 3 (around 5-6pm): egg scramble (recipe here)

-Meal 4 (about an hour or so after previous meal): apple and peanut butter

As you can see, there is a huge emphasis on protein and I make an effort to vary the protein sources. In addition, I try to eat a lot of vegetables and a couple of servings of fruit per day.

I don’t eat many meals during the day, and dinner is definitely the largest meal of the day.

____________

 DEAN SOMERSET

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, December 13

5:00am: almond milk latte with sugar-free caramel flavouring, 2000 UI vitamin D3, omega 3 soft chews

¾ cup organic natural flavoured yogurt, mixed with some natural granola and 1 tsp hemp hearts

9:00am:  bag of sugar snap peas, protein bar, water      

12:00: left-over roast turkey, stuffing and mashed sweet potatoes

3:00pm: coffee with steamed skim milk, apple, fruit and nut bar (organic ingredients)

5:00pm: Asian chicken salad (roast chicken, lettuce, onion, carrot, bell pepper, crushed peanuts, sesame seeds, hoi sin dressing)

8:00pm: Dinner, 6 ounces strip loin steak, steamed broccoli, water with lime juice

Wednesday, December 14

5:00am: Same breakfast as Tuesday

9:00am: 2 handfulls of almonds, walnuts, dried fruit, water

11:00am: wrap (rice noodles, chicken, tomatoes, lime sour cream), carbonated water

2:00pm: Post-workout protein shake (isopure protein, 2 scoops), leftover steamed broccoli, quinoa salad

5:00pm: Protein bar (Pure Protein, new natural type, tastes pretty good considering how low the sugars are),  water

8:00pm: Roast chicken, chick pea hummus & pita chips, water with lime juice

10:00pm: glass of wine with wife (she finished financial math final, needed a drink, hates to drink alone ;-))

Thursday, December 15

7:00am: Same breakfast as Wednesday and Tuesday

12:00pm: wrap (same as Wednesday)

1:00pm: Egg nog latte (they’re calling!!)

4:00pm: Steak, grilled asparagus, bell peppers, new potatoes, some olive oil and crushed garlic

7:00pm: More steak, glass of wine

____________

 KELLIE DAVIS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On a typical day, I eat between 2-3 times per day. The first meal of my day usually happens around 11 am, and always consists of 3-4 whole eggs, 1-2 cups of vegetables, and 1 piece of fruit or 1 slice of toast. I am usually pretty busy and don’t eat again until dinner time, which is around 6 or 6:30 pm. This meal always consists of a main protein, such as grass fed beef, bison, fish, chicken or pork. I eat between 5-7 oz of protein, depending on how much I had throughout the course of my day. Again, I have 1-2 cups of vegetables, a starch, and fats in the form of olive oil, safflower oil, or butter for cooking. 

If I eat a third time, it pretty much looks like my dinner, except the starch is replaced by fruit. I gauge my eating based on how I feel as far as satiety and energy are concerned. I may have a snack during the day of nuts and dried fruit as well if I am hungry. If I only eat twice, I will add in extra calories to my two meals. I also never eat past 8 pm because I find when I do I wake up ravenous. 

I eat at a caloric deficit for the most part, but nothing too extreme. On average, I eat between 1600-1700 calories per day, sometimes more. It allows me to remain lean all year round while maintaining high energy levels for big lifts. 

Eating at a caloric deficit also allows me wiggle room for treats when I want them. I know that I can splurge on a holiday or evening out because I won’t exceed my maintenance calories. 

____________

 TONY GENTILCORE

 

 

 

 

Breakfast:  6:30-7 AM

5 whole egg omelet – with pepper, tumeric, basil, oregano, parsley, and garlic

Thrown into the omelet:  un-cooked broccoli, onion, spinach, sun-dried tomato (all in all, it’s about 1.5 cups of veggies)

I use ghee to “butter” the frying pan, toss all the veggies on, and pour the eggs over that.

Once the omelet is done, I add in some fresh salsa and goat cheese.

It’s pretty epic.

In addition to the omelet:  I have two slices of Ezekiel toast with natural peanut butter and a cut up banana.

On the side, I have a ginormous glass of water with a scoop of Athletic Greens (superfood)

9-9:30 AM (before I head to the facility to train)

6 Flame Out (Fish Oil)

5,000 IU vitamin D

Spike Shooter

12 PM (after training)

Shake:  1/2 cup kefir, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 cup spinach, 1-2 tsp chia seeds, 1 scoop Superfood, 1 scoop Grow, 1/2 cup frozen fruit

1 PM (post training meal)

1 cup rolled oat, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1-2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 scoop Grow (protein powder) and maybe 1-2 Larabars on top of that

OR

1 cup canned pumpkin, 1/2 cup rolled oats, a handful of walnuts, scoop Superfood, scoop of Grow, cinnamon

3 or 4 PM

Typically some sort of stir fry consisting of a bunch of roasted veggies (onions, broccoli, fennel, peppers, etc).  6 oz meat (either chicken or red beef)

Really this is a meal that’s made a head of time by my girlfriend, so it really depends on what she makes.

I’ll usually add a large apple to this meal as well.

Sometime between 6-8 PM

Same as previous meal

As far as non-training days, I may delete the Ezekiel bread, but pretty much everything else is on point.

____________

Feel free to leave your comments below!

6 thoughts on “What Do Fitness Professionals Eat?

  1. That is interesting to see, but I think that it would be more meaningful if each had provided some other information to put it into context and help people see what they can take from each person to apply to their own situation. I think without context, this can actually be harmful for those without a nutritional background.

    For instance, a caloric total or estimate and macronutrient breakdown by grams would be useful in addition to each person’s height and weight. And that could be supplemented by each saying what their activity level is, like “desk job, 1 hour lifting 5 days/week, no cardio”. I think that would help because where Kellie Davis said she has only a “slight” caloric deficit at 1600-1700 calories/day that has to mean she isn’t very active considering her considerable amount of lean mass. However, many people who read that number without any other context to it could take it as a good example or number for themselves in losing or maintaining when their activity level actually puts them at 2,400 calories/day for maintenance and 1600 would be too large of a deficit.

    Also, it appears that Nia Shanks is doing Intermittent Fasting and it might have been useful to include that and each profilee’s general nutritional approach.

    Other than that, I did really like reading this. It gives me ideas and I think it is good to show that a diet can serve the functional needs of an individual’s training without sacrificing taste, flavor, or fun.

    • @ Suzy-First off, thanks for chiming in!
      I hear ya, and think there could be some merit to a much more in depth look at these diets. However, I was really pleased to see that none of the contributions had strict caloric guidelines or macro-nutrient breakdowns. The closest we got was Kellie saying “1600-1700…sometimes more”. This tells me that she’s not counting every calorie or gram of protein, rather she’s has a good idea of what she needs to consume to maintain and stays relatively close to those parameters. And it says there is definitely some wiggle room in her diet. I can’t speak for any of these folks, but knowing their philosophies my guess is that they follow something more along the lines of nutritional guidelines rather than strict calorie limits and macro breakdowns.

      Again, thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

