Random Thoughts From MG

I used to do “random” posts on a regular basis.  I’m not really sure why I’ve got away from them considering that people always seemed to enjoy them and I’m a pretty random guy.  Anywho, the following thoughts/observations/words that happen to be strung together are in no particular order.

1. I’ve never made a conscious effort to put on muscle in the gym.  I’ve always been focused on either getting stronger or getting leaner.  That’s not to say I haven’t put on muscle over the last several years, just that I’ve never made that a priority.  It was always a nice byproduct. 

However, last November I made the decision to give some muscle gain an honest go and see what happened.  I increased my calories by A LOT (a critical component of muscle gain) and wrote out my programs.

I’m happy to say that last night I met my body weight goal of 200 pounds, which has been a 15 pound weight gain.  While some of this weight gain has come in the form of body fat, most of it has been muscle and I’m pretty happy with the results.  I’m looking to get up to the 208-210 range and then begin to strip some of the fat off so I can better see the results of my hard work.

2. Next Monday morning, I’ll be on the radio.  John Hartman, the owner of the gym I train out of has a weekly radio spot on a local station and has asked me to join him on the air this coming Monday.  There’s no planned topic of discussion, but rather we will be making it up as we go.  The plan is for me to join him on air on a somewhat regular basis, and I’m totally stoked to be able to reach a whole different audience.  You can listen online at www.1380thebull.com If you are local you can listen at 1380 AM.  Air time is set for 9:15 MST. 

3. New Cholesterol Guidelines: Utter Madness. I came across this article the other day.  It’s by Jonny Bowden “The Rogue Nutritionist”.  Jonny has pissed more than a few people off with his outspokenness and refusal to take anything at face value.  However, I think (whether you agree or not) reading what others have to say certainly get ones wheels turning…which is never a bad thing.  Click the link above to read the article.

If you have any thoughts on this article, drop them in the comments section below.  I think it could make for an interesting discussion.

4. I came across this on Twitter yesterday, and I also had a couple clients send me texts about it.  BJ Gaddour, a trainer out of Milwaukee, put together a video called poking fun at the stereotypical female client.  I thought this was hilarious, especially since  I’ve heard several of the things he says come out of clients’ mouths.  Taking into consideration that the clients who told me I “had to” watch this were both female, I don’t feel bad putting it up here for a few laughs.

That’s all of my brain dropping (or drippings) for today!

 

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts From MG

Leave a Reply

