I’ve mentioned about a gazillion times on this blog how jacked up peoples’ hips tend to be.  Our incredibly sedentary lifestyles give our bodies a lot of grief, and the hips often take the brunt of the abuse.

I’ve talked about some simple stretches and mobilizations that can tremendous benefits for the hips in the past.  While I still believe that all of them are great, there was something missing for me. 

Most hip flexor stretches and mobilizations tend to focus on the psoas and rectus femoris.  While this is great, I tended to ache more in my tensor fasciae latae area.

I played around with some different positions for quite a while before I finally came up with something that seems to get in that area really well.

I call it the Hip Dip:

Here’s how to do it:

-Get in a split stance position with one knee on the ground.  Get your legs as far apart as you can from front to back.

-Place both hands on the ground in front of the knee that’s down.  You might have to play with your hand positioning a little bit to get the stretch exactly where you need it.

-Next, you need to do three things in order to maximize the efficacy of this movement.  First drop the hip of the leg that’s kneeling down towards the floor.  Second, squeeze the glute of the same leg as tight as you can.  A minimal squeeze will not have the same effect, so squeeze it like you mean it!  Third, rotate your pelvis as if you are trying to square it up with the floor.  You can see all of this happen at the 0:04-0:05 mark in the video.

Hold for 20-30 seconds, then repeat on the other side.

If you do this correctly, you should feel an area of the hips being stretched that you most likely haven’t felt before.  Trust me, it feels REALLY good!

Give it a shot and let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

