Last week I mentioned on Facebook that I was thinking of getting into the gym early on Thanksgiving morning and getting my lift on.  I also asked if anyone else was interested in joining me.  The result was seven of us meeting up for an hour and a half, without much of a plan, and having a good old time lifting, carrying and pushing heavy stuff around.

Two of the girls there, (one a client of mine, the other a former client), hit PR’s on their deadlifts.  One pulled #230 and the other #255.  It was awesome to watch the two of them push each other to pull heavier and heavier.

I attempted a PR but failed miserably.  Looking back, there was no good reason for me to attempt one, but what can I say, I got caught up in the moment!

Needless to say, it was a blast and something I definitely plan on making an annual event!

Most people sit at work.  In fact, most people sit A LOT at work.  I don’t know about you, but anytime I’m working on blogs, articles or e-mails and find myself sitting for any length of time, I feel more sleepy, lazy and sluggish.  Basically, the longer I sit, the more I want to sit.  My creative juices dry up, my shoulders and hips tense up and my suckage factor begins to slowly creep up towards the range of the movie “Just Go With It.”  Seriously, I will never get that hour and a half of my life back.

One thing I like to do to stave off increased suckiness is to simply get up and move a bit.  And you should too.

Now, I don’t mean simply get up to refill your coffee cup, or wander into the break room to see if there are any stale doughnuts from what’s-his-names birthday party last week.  I mean do some simple, yet purposeful movements to undo all that sitting, get your blood pumping and get your creative juices a-flowin’.

Below is a simple routine to do just that.  I recommend you go through the list of exercises  for the prescribed number of reps at least once if not twice, a couple of times a day, or anytime you start to fell your productivity dropping.

-Yoga Plex: 5 reps/side (use office chair in place of bench)

Wall Pec Stretch: 20 seconds/side

Wall Slides: 12 reps

-Thoracic Mobility: 5 reps/side

Half Kneeling Adductor Mobilization: 8 reps/side

This might take you five minutes if you go through it twice, but will be well worth the increase in energy and alertness it gives you.  And the best part is that all you need is your body and your office chair.

Give it a shot and let me know if it helps you re-energize your work day!

Feel free to share on Facebook!  Your support is appreciated!

