If I’ve said it once, I swear I’ve said it a thousand times-you CAN”T out train a crappy diet.  If you’re not coupling your training efforts with your efforts in the kitchen, you’re going to have a very difficult time getting anywhere.

However, the problem for people often isn’t the “want” to, it’s the “what” to. 

What do I eat?

What do I not eat?

What should I never eat?

What is this word “vegetable” you keep using?

In short, the seemingly simple task of determining what to eat can be daunting, and for some even paralyzing.

A huge part of the problem is that nutritional protocols can be so overwhelming and so specific that actually implementing them and sticking to them long term can be next to impossible.

This is why I never make big sweeping changes to someones diet.  Rather, I like to make a few simple guidelines for people to follow day in and day out.

I stole this incredibly useful tool from Eric Cressey and have been using it with some clients with great success.

Here’s how it works:

-Make 7 daily goals for each week (this gives you 49 total goals for the week. 7×7=49)

-Meet 44 of those goals each week.  This will give you roughly 90% compliance to your nutritional goals, which is pretty dang good.

Here’s an example of what it could look like:

-Eat protein at every meal

-Eat two pieces of fruit each day

-Eat veggies at every meal

-Drink 120 oz of water

-Avoid caloric beverages

-Avoid processed foods

-Take 2 fish oil capsules 3xday

You have seven daily guidelines to follow, with the option to miss/skip/ignore 5 of them each week.  I’ve found that this simple tool of setting guidelines rather than specific, hard and fast rules helps people make lasting changes much more easily.

The beauty of this is that it is completely adaptable to each individuals needs.  Do you eat fast food every day?  Then make skipping the drive through one of your guidelines.  Like to binge on chips?  Make avoiding them a guideline.

I like to have clients follow the same guidelines for 3-4 weeks.  This helps them become habit. Once they’ve got the hang of those seven, we can start focusing on some other ares that need cleaning up.

The other part of this that is so beneficial is that it allows for some wiggle room.  And let’s be honest, who doesn’t need a little room to wiggle?

If you want to hit up Mickey D’s? Then do it, but you don’t get to check off that goal for the day and you only have 4 more opportunities to miss for the week.

Pretty straight forward right?

Write down your seven guidelines and put them up somewhere you will see them regularly.  If anyone is interested, I have a simple Word document I use with some clients that I can forward to you.  Just shoot me a message on the contact page.

Let me know how it works for you!

 

 

