It’s The Journey, Not The Destination

I don’t know about you all, but I ate a little too much candy last night.   We took our daughter out for her first trick-or-treating experience and seeing as she’s only 5 and a half months old she didn’t eat any of the candy she got.  Which left it sitting there to tempt my wife and I.  All I know is I woke up this morning surrounded by candy wrappers after apparently passing out from a sugar induced coma.  Or something like that.

Anyway, the stomachache and fuzzy brain have since passed and I’m back in working order.

I’ve noticed a trend with people-my clients, people I talk to and even the natural tendency that I have.  We don’t want to wait for anything.  At all. 

Even the microwaveable dinner you cook for 3-4 minutes seems like it takes longer than it should to heat. 

Whether someone is trying to get lean, build muscle or put more weight on the bar (or God forbid, all three at the same time) they want results…and they want them now.

I’d be willing to bet that one of the biggest reasons that people fail to meet their goals is that they are too short-sighted.

Think about it this way, if your only goal is to lose 20 pounds, what happens when you lose those 20 pounds?  Now what?  Usually, people no longer have the motivation they once did and they wind up gaining those 20 pounds back.

Or what if you want to lose those 20 pounds in 3 months and 3 months later you’ve only lost 7?  In this case people often become incredibly disheartened and throw in the towel all together.

What if instead, in each of these situations, the point was to live a healthy life, eat healthy food and get stronger to help prevent injury?  What if it was about living a lifestyle and not about a certain destination. 

Now don’t get me wrong, shorter term goals are not bad.  And I’m not advocating you spend your life chasing ambiguous and vague goals. In fact, I think short-term goals have a ton of benefit, but only when they are kept in proper perspective and coupled with the concept that you don’t live and die by them.  

Remember, they are not the destination, but rather pit stops along the way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

