Before I get started, I want to give a quick reminder that today is the last day to pre-register for the “Everything You Need To Know About Fat Loss” Seminar.  Be sure to do so here before the registration price goes up!

Yesterday, on MSN, I saw a story that immediately piqued my curiosity. 

Contemporary artist, Ron English, pulled a clever and poignant stunt in a grocery store in CA.  He replaced several “normal” cereal boxes with recreations that depicted his feelings on the high sugar content in many popular cereals. 


I have to say I laughed out loud at the “Sugar Smack” Frog mainlining sugar.  Partly because it’s funny, and partly because it’s not that far off.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not saying that cereals are addictive or the reasons America’s obesity rate is shooting through the roof.  But I’m not going to say that they aren’t a part of the problem.

When I was a kid, I knew cereals like Lucky Charms, Frosted Flakes and Fruit Loops were full of sugar.  Everyone did.  That’s the reason that my mom vary rarely let me eat them, no matter how much of a fit I threw.  She knew that they weren’t good for me and didn’t allow me to stuff my face with them on a regular basis.  (By the way, thanks for that mom…I’m happy about it now.)

The problem has become that as our society has become slightly more health conscious, food companies are trying to do everything they can to make their products look healthy.  Now cereals are “fortified with vitamins” and a “great source of whole grains”.  And who wouldn’t want their kids to have vitamins and whole grains right?  I mean it really is a win win situation.  The kid gets something crazy sweet, and the parents get to feel like they gave something healthy to their child.

And then you have frozen diet foods that are low calories, and lower calories must be good right?

And these frozen waffles are made with whole grains too!

OMG, did you know that chocolate milk is a good source of vitamin D?

And red licorice is fat free!  This is A.MA.ZING!

It almost as if everything is good for you…

Seriously, next time you go to the store look at how almost every food product is trying to promote something healthy about itself.  It’s really quite startling.  “Gluten Free”, “Low Fat”, “Fat Free”, “Good source of…”, and on and on.

The next time you’re doing your shopping and you think to yourself “Wow, I didn’t know that was good for me!”, go out to the parking lot and punch yourself in the face until you feel logic creeping back in.

Resume shopping.

