Random Friday: Two Client Stories, A Milestone, Go Me And A Sweet Video

It’s been a quite a while since I’ve done a Random Friday post, and since I have a few different things I wanted to mention, it seemed like a good time to bring it back.  Not too mention it also happens to be Friday.

I had two very cool stories from a couple clients of me this week. 

-The first, a client I’ve been working with since May, informed me a couple days ago that she is having  a yard sale.  The reason is that she been kicking butt and taking names in the gym and with her food choices and almost all of her clothes are too big for her now.

The interesting thing is that  she’s had some friends tell her that she might want to hang on to them…you know…just in case.  It’s amazing to me that people so often have a plan for failure.  I’m crazy proud of this client, not only in her progress, but in her defiance towards ever returning to the body she used to have.  Kudos!

-The second client, who also happens to be a good friend of mine, is moving and we had our last in-person session yesterday.   We were talking a bit about the phenomenal progress she has made.  Of course, I was talking about external, physical progress.  She agreed with me, but then looked at me with tears in her eyes and told me that the real progress was in how she felt about herself and how much her self esteem has improved.  Things like that are always strong reminders to me of how my job is about much more than just vanity.  Thanks to this client for reminding me that this job isn’t just about getting stronger and losing inches.

-I missed a professional milestone of mine.  I realized yesterday that I have been blogging for over a year now.  In fact, I’m about a month late on this.  I know, way to pay attention right?  I’m planning on doing a “Year of Michael Gray Fitness” in the very near future, so be looking for that.

-Speaking of being late, I made a goal in February of 2010 to deadlift 405 lbs by January 1 of 2011.  It didn’t happen.  But thanks to a few friends and clients who have kept me accountable to this goal, yesterday I FINALLY met it.

Admittedly, my back gets a little sloppy, which isn’t that uncommon when pulling PR’s.  But I’m super excited to have met this goal.  This just goes to show that just because you may not meet a goal in the time frame you were hoping, doens’t mean it’s a good idea to give up on it.  455# here I come!

-Here’s another video I saw this earlier this week that I thought was pretty awesome.  It’s a dude dubstepping to Foster The Kids song “Pumped Up Kicks.”  Dubstepping is basically a style of dance that makes your brain freak out from trying to process how what your seeing is actually happening.

-Lastly, just a quick reminder about my “Everything You Need To Know About Fat Loss” Seminar that’s coming up.  Be sure and register here.

Have a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “Random Friday: Two Client Stories, A Milestone, Go Me And A Sweet Video

Leave a Reply

