Fat Loss Food Ideas

Yesterday I had a pretty big announcement regarding an opportunity for one of you to win a couple months of free personal training with me.  If you haven’t read about it, be sure and do so here.  Remember to get your entries in for your chance to win!

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time you know that I recently went through a six week fat loss phase.  I was really happy with my results, and plan on doing a shorter version of it (3-4 weeks) again sometime in the late fall/winter just to stay a bit leaner year round than I typically have in past.

I’ve received several requests from people to let you all in on what exactly I ate during this fat loss phases, so I thought I would give you all some recipes that I used pretty frequently.

Keep in mind that all of these are at a caloric amount that was appropriate for me, starting at 195 pounds.  If you are a 135 pound female, you would definitely need to adjust these amount to suit you.

First off, the basics as to what I ate was pretty straight forward.  Lots of Lean protein (mostly chicken and eggs), veggies, healthy fats, a little fruit and a few carb sources (mostly yams and oats).  Oh, and a TON of water.

I ate “breakfast-y” foods pretty often.  I like eggs and they are a quick and easy food to make.  And no eating eggs (yes, the whole egg) wont make you die.

A couple egg recipes I used frequently, I’ve written about before here and here.

Another one that I picked up from Kelly Booth over at EliteFTS is a healthy version of an Oatmeal Cream Pie.  I actually really liked these.  While they are a far cry from tasting like an actual Oatmeal Cream Pie, I found them to be really filling and the protein powder/water mix did a pretty good job of playing the part of frosting.

I came up with a recipe that I used pretty often that was somewhere along the lines of a yam-hashbrown breakfast scramble.  Here it is:

-one yam (grated)

-1/2 white onion (chopped)

-2 slices bacon (cooked and broken up into small pieces)

-olive oil

-garlic salt

-pepper

-paprika

In a pan over medium heat, saute onions in a tbsp of olive oil.

Once the onions are done, toss in bacon bits and grated yams.  Add another 1-2 tbsp olive oil.  Salt, pepper and paprika as much or as little as you want.  Let the yams cook until completely cooked.  Roughly 30ish minutes, tossing them every 5 minutes or so. This will yield 2-3 servings for me.

After they’re done, I fry up three eggs and heat up a sausage patty and throw those on top, and mix it all together for some breakfasty-goodness. 

A few other thigns I would eat regularly were/are:

-Dry oats mixed with peanut butter.  I would top this off with some chocolate protein powder in water.

-Vanilla protein powder in Greek yogurt.  To me this tastes kind of like frosting.

-Salsa chicken and baked, cubed yams.  I got the recipe for salsa chicken from a client and it’s one I used pretty frequently.  Simply throw some chicken in a crock pot and cover with salsa.  Cook on low all day.  Could that be any easier?

Dinner would usually be either a big omelet with turkey sausage, frozen spinach and salsa, or some grilled chicken or elk steaks and veggies, something along the lines of a shish kabob.

Aside from cheat days when I ate whatever I felt like, that’s the bulk of what I ate on a regular basis.

Give any of the above a shot and let me know how you like them!

Any of you have any recipes you want to share?

 

One thought on “Fat Loss Food Ideas

Leave a Reply

