A Lesson From The Major Leagues

A quick FYI, I am now a little more current and hip (as if that’s possible) and have got myself a Twitter account.  Although I have to admit I’m still a little uncertain as to how it all goes down, I’ve been enjoying it.  So now, not only can you share the blog on Facebook, but you can also tweet and re-tweet to all of your Twitter tweeters. Also, if any of you have an account and would like to stalk me, hit me up @GrayFitness where I too will be tweeting away.

This last Saturday a pretty awesome thing happened in the world of professional baseball.  Derek Jeter, from the New York Yankees, got career hit number 3,000. 

To say the least, I’m not a Yankees fan.  I mean, I’m really not a Yankees fan.  I think I’d rather have a colonoscopy than root for the Yanks.  However, reaching 3,000 is no small feat.  In fact, it’s so rare that less then 30 players have ever reached this career milestone in the major leagues.  Jeter is now in the company of the best players to ever step up to the plate.  Plus he seems to be a stand up guy, so Yankee or not, it’s definitely worth mentioning.

There are a couple interesting thing about this event that got me thinking.  First off, Jeter has been on the disabled list more than a couple times.  ( I saw one list that had him on there 10 different times in the course of his career.)  Each time he was injured, he took an appropriate amount of time to heal and recover.  But then he would do the weirdest thing.  He would go back to playing baseball.  He didn’t lose his motivation and quit.  He didn’t whine and throw a fit about it.  And, while I’m sure frustrated, he didn’t let it overwhelm him to the point that he threw in the towel and said “what’s the point?’

Second, he didn’t get 3,000 hits in his first game.  Or in his first season.  This is his 17th season.  17 years of day in day out, practice, games with hits, games with no hits, travel, off-seasons, injuries, rehabilitation, and on and on to reach this milestone.  I think it’s safe to say that there isn’t a single major league player (you could possibly exempt pitchers) who wouldn’t love to join the company of the 3,000 hit club.  But none of them will get there without putting in years of effort and years of consistency.

If people took the same approach with their training, how much further along would they be?  I can’t tell you how many times I see someone come in to the gym and they’re super consistent for about two weeks.  Then, suddenly, they disappear and are never seen again. 

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for helping my clients make amazing transformations in a short amount of time, but people forget that fitness is also a long game.  Feeling better, being stronger, getting leaner for the rest of your life takes work, dedication and effort (wait for it…waaaaiiit for it…) for the rest of your life

If you get hurt or injured and have to take some time off, what’s the point in saying “I’ll lose all the ground I’ve made so what’s the point of getting back to it at all?”  What you need to do is get better and then get your butt back into the gym and back to working hard.  You need to understand that there are elements of fitness that take years to either reach or maintain.  You don’t get to show up for a few weeks and suddenly be in amazing shape, and you don’t get magically maintain everything you’ve gained without continuing to work hard.

Be consistent.  Keep working hard.  When you have set backs, adapt, recover, rest, and then move forward.  Understand that some things are worth working day in and day out for. 

Some things will come quickly, others will take time.  But they are all worth it.

GO BO SOX!!!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A Lesson From The Major Leagues

Leave a Reply

