Yesterday I posted part 1 of this discussion with my first three fat loss tips.  To catch up, read here.  I also mentioned that if anyone was interested in my reasoning behind cutting grains significantly or altogether, to let me know and I would be happy to give my rational.  A few of you wanted to know why in the world I would make that suggestion, so I will get to that hopefully tomorrow.

For now, I wanted to give you the last two (OK I snuck in an extra one) of my fat loss tips.

4. Cut out caloric beverages.

One of the easiest ways to stall out your fat loss is to take in calories from things your drinking.  Soda, energy drinks, fruit juices, etc offer little to no nutritional value as well as a lot of calories that you don’t need.  Replacing these drinks with either water or green tea can do a whole lot in the the way of aiding your fat loss efforts.

The one exception I would make would be a protein shake.  These would technically be considered a “drink” but considering the fact that they are high in protein, they are almost a meal in and of themselves.  Aside from a shake,  you should not be getting any calories from things you’re drinking.

On the flip side of this, you should be drinking a ton of water.  A hydrated body has a much easier time getting rid of unwanted body fat.

5.  Reduce dairy.

Cheeses and milk in particulair.  Milk due to the fact that it is a beverage that has calories, and cheese due to the high calorie content.  I know, I know but milk is so good for you right?  Well, not in my opinion.  Without getting into the gory details, unless you’re buying raw milk, it’s pretty ridden with hormones and antibiotics and you can get plenty of calcium by simply taking a multi-vitamin.  Don’t get me wrong, I loves me a tall glass of cold milk, but when I’m leaning out, it goes out the window.

However, I’m all in favor of keeping yogurt (especially Greek yogurt) and cottage cheese in your diet.

6. Avoid solely endurance based activity

For some reason, people think that if they’re going to lose body fat they need to spend countless hours on the treadmill.  It’s simply not true.  People need to keep weight training activities as an integral part of their routines.  As the saying goes “what makes muscle keeps muscle.”  The last thing you want to do is lose 20 pounds and have 10 of those pounds be fat and the other 10 pounds be muscle.

By continuing to weight train, you signal your body to hold on to muscle because it needs it to perform the weight training activities you’re doing.  Not to mention the fact that you burn a ton of calories when moving appreciable weight.

So there you have it 5 (plus one) tips to help you get into a leaner you.  Feel free to share any other tips you may have in the comments section!

 

