5 Reasons To Lose Body Fat

Thanks to everyone who took part in the survey yesterday.  (If you haven’t taken part, please take a couple minutes to do so here.  I would greatly appreciate it!)  I’ve already got some great feedback as to what people like and dislike about the blog as well as ways I can clean things up a bit.  After a few more days, I’ll put up some of the results, as I think they might be of some interest to you, but for now, here’s a quick teaser: “yes” and “turkey sub” are neck and neck.

If that sentence makes no sense to you, then you need to go here.

I’ve been a little focused on body fat lately for a couple reasons.  First, a high majority of my clients right now are focused on dropping body fat.  Second, I’m in  a bit of a leaning out phase myself.  Between writing fat loss programs constantly, reviewing food journals for clients who are dropping body fat, keeping my own training and diet in check to lose body fat…it’s something I’m thinking about quite a bit these days.

I think it’s safe to say that there are a ton of good reasons to lose body fat, but here are my top 5:

1. Feel comfortable in your own skin

Probably the biggest reason that people want to lose body fat is that they don’t like the way they feel in their own skin, the way they look in the mirror or how they feel when they are walking/standing/sitting.  Feeling like that is no fun for anyone.  Every movement can be a reminder that you are unhappy with your body and wishing things ere different.

Dropping excess weight let’s you feel completely different throughout your day to day activities.  I’ve had clients get excited about seemingly small things like “when I sit at my desk, my belly doesn’t hang over anymore” or, “when I’m standing up, I can look down and see my shoes!” 

Things like that make a huge difference in how someone sees themselves.

2. Bigger wardrobe

The hard truth is that as people gain body fat, their clothes get tighter and tighter.  All of a sudden they wake up one morning to find that half of their clothes don’t fit anymore.  Decreasing your body fat allows you to wear more things without going out and buying bigger sizes. 

I have a client who told me recently, “There is nothing in my closet that doesn’t fit…comfortably.”  And she said it with a big smile on her face.

3.Guys look bigger, women look smaller

It’s an interesting phenomenon, but somehow it’s true; as guys lose body fat, they not only look leaner, but they also look like they’ve got more muscle on them.  Women, however, tend to look more curvy and thinner as they drop body fat.

Considering the fact that most guys want to look a little bigger and have more impressive definition, and most women wouldn’t mind looking a bit thinner and having more curves-dropping body fat seems like a good idea all around.

4. Feel “cleaner”

I’ve noticed that every time I lean out (which is usually in the summer) not only do I look better, but my body feels cleaner.  It’s a hard thing to describe if you haven’t experienced it, but you literally feel like your guts are working better, you feel less bloated and your skin is tighter.  All of these things give a feeling of being “clean”.  Like everything is in proper working order.

Having "the pipes" in working order is a good feeling.

If you’ve ever felt like your body is toxic, like your guts aren’t working properly or like you’re bloated all the time, dropping body fat is a nice change of pace to those feelings.

5. Increased confidence

This one sort of sums up all the rest, but I think it’s important to mention it on its own.  The reality is that when clothes fit better, when you like what you see in the mirror, when you can wear everything you own and when your body feels clean and like it’s functioning properly, your confidence increases…a ton.  And let’s be honest, who wouldn’t mind walking around feeling more confident?

Those are my top 5 reasons.  How about you?  What are some of your favorite reasons to lose body fat?

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons To Lose Body Fat

  1. I think something that goes with confidence is state of mind; meaning all sence of accomplishment, confidence, postitivity, SELF worth, and the healthy influences you pass on to your children. All of those incorportated make for a good state of mind or peace of mind.
    ~Crystal

Leave a Reply

