I’ve mentioned before that, whether your goals are to gain muscle, lose body fat or just feel good, breakfast is an important piece of the puzzle.

Without it, you set yourself up for missing out on hours of an increased metabolism, as well as a chance to give yourself much needed protein and nutrients.  Not to mention studies like this one that show that missing breakfast gives you a greater propensity to eat higher calorie foods later on in the day.

I have clients tell me all the time that they don’t have time to eat breakfast.

Sorry, but I never buy this one. 

Ever.

People have more time than they think and they certainly are able to make time for the things that are important to them.  Along with deadlifting, eating lots of veggies, flushing public toilets and putting your shopping cart back where it goes and not leaving it in the middle of a parking space so I have to get out of my car before I park and do what you were too lazy to…breakfast should be at the top of that list.

What I find myself often doing is giving people suggestions of quick, easy and healthy options for breakfast.

Here is a breakfast I eat almost every single morning.  It’s easy to make and fills me up, all while giving me good fuel for the day.  My portion may be a bit bigger than you like, so you can adjust accordingly.

Mike’s Gray’s (That Handsome Personal Trainer) Delicious Breakfast: (Yes, that’s the official name and you have to say ALL of it when someone asks you what you had for breakfast)

-4 whole eggs (yes, the whole egg…none of that silly egg white business)

-4 turkey sausages

-1/8 cup frozen spinach ( I don’t really measure this, so it’s a rough estimate)

-1/8 cup dry oats (again, not measured)

-2 tbsp salsa

To save myself time in the morning, I do all the prep work (if you can even call it that) the night before.  This means I crack the eggs into a small plastic container and scramble them up.  Then I put the frozen sausage, spinach, oats and salsa in separate containers.

Prep work done.

It seriously takes me about 2 minutes to get this ready to go.

This nice thing is that, overnight, the sausage and spinach defrost and cook up quickly.

I get everything ready ahead of time because I don’t ever eat breakfast at home.  I take this with me to work and eat it while I work on the blog, write programs or catch up on other peoples fitness blogs.

If you’re cooking this at home, simply heat up a frying pan, give it a spray of olive oil and cook everything like you would normal scrambled eggs, leaving the salsa out until your ready to eat.

What I do at work is give the eggs another quick scramble since they’ve been sitting overnight, cut up the turkey sausage into chunks using the fork I’m going to eat with. (This is why it’s nice that they’re defrosted).  Then I throw the sausage, spinach and oats into my eggs.  Mix it all up real quick and throw it in the microwave.

I cook them for about 90 seconds, mix them up, another 90 seconds, mix and then about 60 more seconds.  This adds up to a whopping 4 minutes of cook time. Then you add another minute that it takes to get it all together before cooking and 5 minutes to eat it and you’re looking at a grand total of 10 minutes for a very healthy, filling, nutrient dense, fat burning, home cooked breakfast.

Are you really going to try to tell me that you don’t have 10 minutes?

OK fine.  So you can’t get up 10 minutes earlier, take a shorter shower, get your clothes ready the night before, go to bed 10 minutes earlier or do something else to allow yourself the time necessary to be more awesome.  Well Mr. “Ihaveanexcuseforeverything”, here’s the kicker: You can be doing other things while the eggs are cooking.

-Get dressed

-Put on your deodorant

-Comb your hair

-Let your dog out to go potty

-Let yourself out to go potty

-Etc.

The point is this, it doesn’t take as much time as you think it’s going to, and you do have time to eat something healthy for breakfast.  So do it, and then give me an internet high five.

Give this recipe a try and let me know what you think.  And as always, feel free to share on Facebook!

