How’s He Gonna Do It?

In case you missed it, last Friday, here on the blog, I stated some goals I have for the next several weeks.  The catch is that I promised that if I don’t meet my goals 100% before I leave for vacation in July, I will eat a can of Alpo dog food.

And film it.

And post it on the blog.

Here’s the problem…the time frame I set for myself was inaccurate, and I leave a week earlier than I thought.  So now, instead of seven weeks to meet my goals, I have six.

I know, I’m a genius……

I have to say that the possibility of not only eating “prime cuts of beef covered in gravy” (which looks more like buffalo drool than gravy), but also posting it on the interwebz for everyone to see has constantly been in the back of my mind since I said I would do this.

And it’s been VERY helpful in keeping my from getting of track.

I also asked if anyone wanted to come along for the ride, set a goal with a set time frame and eat some dog food if their goals aren’t met.

So far, I’ve had a few people tell me that they’re seriously considering it, and 1 person commit to it.

It’s not too late, so feel free to jump in!  Just post your goals(s) and time frame in the comments below!

Anyway, I’ve had a few people ask me what my approach to meeting my goals will be (you can read about the goals here).

As far as the fat loss goal, my approach is two fold, a strict diet and a solid training program.

First, my diet is getting cleaned up considerably.  I have to admit that since my wife had our baby, my priorities have been much less focused on what I’m eating and much more on Lila and spending as much time with her as I can.  But, I’m back on the horse.

My meals will be comprised of the following:

Protein: Whole protein sources such as eggs, elk, chicken, ground turkey and grass fed beef, as well as protein powder in water. 

Carbs: Whole oats, yams, a ton of vegetables and the occasional piece of fruit on my training days. 

Fats: Olive oil, natural peanut butter

By the way, if you’re trying to lose weight and need a little “dessert”, try a small scoop of peanut butter and stir some dry oats into it.  DELICIOUS!  But don’t go too crazy with it because while a great source of fat, peanut butter does pack a high calorie count.

For my fat loss training, I’m following John Romaniello’s Final Phase Fat Loss Program.  I’ll be honest, when I spend a lot of time writing programs for clients, sometimes the last thing I want to do is write one for myself.  Plus it’s nice to not have to do any thinking and just do what I’m told.

As far as meeting my pull up goal, I will simply be doing two max sets nearly every day between now and when I leave for vacation.  One first thing in the morning and one before I leave the gym to head home.  That’s it.

I will also be very mindful of staying as active as I can to burn any extra calories I can.  Doing things like going for a walk in the evening (when coupled with good training and a good diet) can have a big impact when you’re trying to burn off some extra fat.

So that’s my plan in somewhat of a nutshell.  Of course, I will be evaluating regularly and makes tweaks as necessary.

Remember to post your own goals in the comments below, and join me in the Alpo Challenge!

 

2 thoughts on “How’s He Gonna Do It?

Leave a Reply

