I’ve said many times on this blog that making your goals public is a great way to keep you accountable to them.  If your support system knows what you’re trying to accomplish, they can hold you to it as well as encourage you to keep striving towards you goal(s). Also, if you don’t reach them, people know you didn’t and you have to live with that.

Making your goals public is one of the best ways to keep you on track and focused.

However, I’ve heard of an additional motivator that I think goes along nicely with the “making things public” piece.

It is simply this-if you don’t reach your goal, you have to eat a can of Alpo dog food……and video it so all your friends can see.

Think that might keep you on track?

Seriously, if the prospect of eating a can of wet dog food, and people seeing you do it, doesn’t keep you focused, I don’t think anything will.

That being said, I’m throwing my hat in the ring.

Every summer, my family takes a vacation to a lake about 4 hours from where I live.  We spend hours in the water, on the boat, hiking and outside simply playing around.  Needless to say, I spend a great deal of time with my shirt off. 

Along with that, every summer I like to try to get as lean as I can, so that having my shirt off doesn’t make me want to run and hide from embarrassment. 

So, I’m putting my money where my mouth is and not only making my goals public (waaaay beyond the scope of just my family and friends) but I’m also promising that if I don’t 100% meet my goals, I will eat an entire can of Alpo dog food. (and not the small can…the 13.2 oz can)

Plus, I will video tape it and post it on this blog.

*GULP*

Here are my goals:

-Lose 12+ pounds of body fat

-Be able to do 12 consecutive Pull Ups ( I’m currently at 7)

That’s it.

If on July 30th (which is seven weeks away) I haven’t meet both those goals, I will eat a can of dog food and let you all witness the fun.

So……anyone joining me? (you have to eat the big can too!)

If so, post your goals, as well as a target date, in the comments section below!

