A Few Thoughts On A Tuesday

I hope you all had a good Memorial Day weekend, got a chance to get some rest and are ready to get back at it. 

I haven’t done a random thoughts post for a while, and considering the fact that being a new dad is one of the most tiring things I’ve ever done, and my brain is in a bit of a fog, I think doing something random feels quite appropriate.

Fasten your seat belts, keep your hands inside the car, and please no flash photography.  It scares the bears.  Here we go:

1.  If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you know that I had a goal of deadlifting 405 by January 1 of this year.  You also know that I didn’t complete that goal.  Since then, I’ve been having a bit of a hard time getting back on track with it.  I’ve missed a few PR attempts, and to say the least, I’ve been a bit frustrated.

Thankfully a couple of clients have been reminding me of my goal and pushing me to get back at it.  Well, it’s paid off.  While I still haven’t got 405, I did pull a new PR this last Friday (#385), which is 20 more pounds than my previous PR, and I have a new fire to get after 405.

2.  Food companies will jump on any band wagon they can to sell their products.  I’ve mentioned before my frustration with sugary cereals being labeled as the #1 source of whole grains for breakfast.  This weekend I saw a new one.  I was pouring some salsa on my scrambled eggs when I noticed that the label was claiming the salsa to be “Gluten Free!”.  This may sound great to the casual observer, but here’s the deal-there’s no reason salsa should ever have gluten in it.

Gluten is a protein found in grain products like wheat and barely.  I don’t think I’ve ever had salsa with wheat or barely in it.  However, to the average person who has heard about the negative effects of gluten, this could be a great selling point.  It’s just too bad that the truth is, you probably can’t find any salsa with gluten in it.

3.  I’ve been talking with John “Roman” Romaniello a bit lately, and he’s agreed to do an interview for the site.  If you’re not familiar with Roman, click on the link to the left under my blog roll.  He’s dead sexy, very entertaining to read and crazy smart.  Also, his Alexa rating ( a website popularity ranking system) is 136, 398.  That’s for the whole world.  If you’re in the top 1,000,000 you’re doing well.  So yeah, he’s kind of a big deal.  Be looking for the interview to go up in the next week or two.

4.  Since last October I have been focused very little on my body fat percentage, but rather, focused on muscle and strength gain.  Since then, I’ve put on about 20 pounds, some fat, some muscle.  As well, I’ve seen my strength go through the roof, and my shirts are fitting quite a bit tighter (in a good way).  I’m getting ready to make a run and stripping of the fat and getting pretty lean for the summer.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and may even do some before and afters for the site.  As long as you all don’t mind seeing a third nipple.*

I SAID NO FLASH PHOTOGRAPHY!!!!!!  RUN!!!!!!

*This statement was used purely for entertainment purposes and is in no way indicative of the number of nipples that the author actually has.

Leave a Reply

