Getting Back At It (and some good reads)

I wrote a brief update on Monday as to what’s been going on with me over the last few days.  If you missed it, my wife delivered our baby girl last Saturday.  This week has been a whirlwind to say the least, and this morning I drug myself away from baby Lila, and I’m back to work-training, writing, etc. 

My wife and I had to stay a few days in the hospital, and to say that the cot I was sleeping on was uncomfortable would be an understatement.  The middle of it sagged down several inches which has made my hips and back feel like a bag of garbage. 

Since I haven’t touched a weight in a week(ish), I’m looking forward to getting reacquainted with my foam roller and lacrosse ball.  I’ll also be getting in some moderately heavy deadlifts and other compound lifts just to get my body feeling better.  (Unless I’m feeling like a champ from the time off, in which case I may just crush a new PR)

I’m planning on getting back to updating the blog 2-4 times a week, but I’m making no promises.  Truth be told, if it comes down to giving you all some nuggets of my awesomeness or laying down with my baby girl in my arms…well, I think you know what choice I’m making.

I did however get some time while in the hospital to read some great new content by others in the industry, so here are some good reads for you to check out (OK, OK, one of them is from me…so what if I’m being a bit shameless.)

-EliteFTS published my article on “How Strength Training Makes You A Better Person” last Friday.  If you haven’t, be sure and check it out and leave a comment letting me know how much you liked it.  (I know you will).

-Kellie Davis, from Mother Fitness, continues to be awesome and is putting out great content.  Here’s a post from her on keeping your focus yourself and not others.  Great stuff.

-Tony Gentilcore wrote up a great article for Livestrong.com.  He discussed a few exercises that you may have never tried before, but definitely have great benefit to the body.  I’ve been a big fan of the Goblet Squats W/ a Pulse for a while.

Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Getting Back At It (and some good reads)

Leave a Reply

