Follow The Rules, Reap The Rewards

“There’s something here.  What it is ain’t exactly clear…”

-Buffalo Springfield

Holy guacamole, last week was hopping for Gray Fitness!  It was by far the busiest week the blog has ever seen.  By a loooong way.  I always try to put up good content and do my best to present information in an easy to read, yet entertaining way.  My hope (as well as my hunch) is that the recent increase in readership is due to 1. I’m actually doing what I’m attempting to by putting up solid content, and 2. all of you lovely people are spreading the word.  So thanks!

Now, on to business.

A funny thing happened the other day while I was driving to the bank to make a deposit.  ( I know that sounds like the start of a bad joke…but it isn’t.  Please people, this is serious business.)  I noticed two women, who were not even close to the crosswalk, start walking into the street.  The car in front of me didn’t stop for them, let alone slow down.  Whether it was because the driver didn’t see the two women or because he just didn’t care, I don’t know.  After he passed, I stopped for them.  It wasn’t really out of courtesy, but more due to the fact that the women were already half way into my lane and I didn’t feel like having the fender of my Jeep get dented.  (I kid, I kid..but seriously, who wants their fender dented?)

The women barely took notice of me, but were more concerned with yelling at and giving the bird to the driver who didn’t stop for them.  Then one of them turned to me, threw her hands up and gave me a look as if to say, “Can you believe that jerk?”

I thought to myself, “Well, yeah…kinda.”

Here’s the rub.  (Yes I’m going all 1920’s gangster on you.  I’m also using parenthesis way too much in this post.)  Legally, the two women were in the wrong.  While the guy in front of me could have been considerate and stopped, he didn’t have to.  The two women were the only ones that did anything wrong.  However, even though they were not crossing illegally, they felt entitled enough to yell at the first driver, and then look to me for confirmation that their anger was justified.

I see this with people all the time.  I get members of the gym that I work out of come up to me to tell me about their fitness woes.  After talking them for about two minutes, it’s easy to see where they’ve gone wrong.

There are certain laws to strength training but, much like the two women I mentioned earlier, people break those laws and then get entitled when things don’t go like they want them to.

-If you want to lose weight, you have to eat less calories than you are expending.

-If you want to gain strength, you have to continually put more weight on the bar.

-If you want to gain muscle, you need to lift heavy weight.

-If you want to be free of injury, you need to do some dedicated mobility work.

-If you want to be comfortable in your own skin, you need to eat food that is actually food.

You can’t break the rules and expect everything to fall into place.  It may work for a while, but eventually you’re going to be getting awfully friendly with the grill of a Jeep.

Leave a Reply

