It’s been a few week since I’ve done “An Exercise You Need To Try” post, so I figured, why not today?  And since I couldn’t give myself a good answer as to why not, here you go.

I saw Stir The Pots over on Tony Gentilcore’s blog a while back, gave it a shot for a bit and then had some of my clients try it.  In short, it works…well.

Here’s what they look like:

Here’s how to do them:

-Place your elbows on a Swiss Ball and get your feet wide.

-Brace your abs tightly.

-Make small circles with your elbows, moving the Swiss Ball with them.

-Don’t stick your butt up or let your hips sag.  Keep a straight line from your shoulder to your ankle.

A couple of things to note.  Start with fairly small circles, and begin to make larger ones if you’re able to maintain good form.  Also, this is an advanced exercise and much harder than it looks, so if planks are challenging for you, this would not be something you should give a shot at this point.

I like to start clients with 6 circles (1 is over and back) and move up from there.

Try them out and let me know what you think!

