Recipe For Yam “Fries”-They’re So Good You Could Eat ‘Em!

I remember hearing about sweet potato fries a few years ago and thinking that such a delicious and nutritious food had been spoiled by getting deep fat fried.  So I thought to myself, why can’t I make them at home, but make them healthier?  So I set out on my quest.  The road was long and full of danger…maybe not, but it was full of tasty goodness.

I actually meant to make sweet potato fries, but accidentally bought yams instead.  My wife and I liked them so much, that we’ve just stuck with the yams.

Before I get to the recipe, here’s a few reason to eat yams:

-They’re loaded with vitamins C and B6, potassium and dietary fiber.

-They help protect against diabeties and obesity

I think those two reason alone make yams pretty much a ninja in the food world.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

-2 large yams

-olive oil

-garlic salt

-pepper

-paprika

Yup…that’s it.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Cut the yams into “fry” shapes (or you can cut them into pink hearts, orange stars, yellow moons…whatever you want really.)  Just make sure they’re around 1/4 of an inch thick.  Spray a cookie sheet with olive oil (you can use non-stick cooking spray, but an olive oil sprayer like this one is better.)  Lightly sprinkle salt, pepper and paprika on the cookie sheet.  Lay the yam fries on the cookie sheet, leaving a little room between each fry.  Spray the fries with olive oil.  Sprinkle salt, pepper and paprika over the tops of the yams.  Cook for 20ish minutes, then flip the fries over for another 10 minutes or so.  Basically when they start to blister, they’re done.

Try them out and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Recipe For Yam “Fries”-They’re So Good You Could Eat ‘Em!

  1. Pingback: Recap of last week (one busy week!) « Michael Gray

  2. Pingback: The Best Of! « Michael Gray

Leave a comment