A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned how one of my mobilization videos was used on EliteFTS.com.  While I didn’t do anything to get that video on the website, it was still cool that it got used.  I thought it might be nice for those of you who checked the video out, to know how to perform the exercise.

First off, this exercise is great for opening up the chest and anterior (front) shoulder muscles.  Most of us tend to be really tight across the chest, due to sitting, talking on cell phones and spending hours on computers both at work and at home.  In short, most people desperately need some more range of motion across the front of their torsos.

Broomstick Pec Mobilization:

What it looks like:

How to do it:

-Begin by standing in a split stance position (one foot in front of the other). Start with your right foot forward and keep your chest tall.

-Take a PVC pipe, dowel or broomstick and place the end of it in the palm of your right hand.

-Grab the other end of the broomstick with your left hand and push it into the palm of your right hand, elevating your hand overhead.

-Push to where you feel a moderate stretch and then return to the starting position.

Complete 6-8 reps and then switch sides.  Make sure to switch your feet too.  I use these as part of clients warm-ups, but also, at times, I use them at the end of sessions for a static stretch.  The only change I make for a stretch instead of a mobilization is to hold in the stretched position for 15-20 seconds.

Give them a shot and let me know what you think!

