The Best Supplement Money Can Buy

I get asked a lot about what supplements I like.  The fitness market is flooded with supplements promising to get people lean/jacked/diced or gain 10 pounds of lean muscle in 30 days.  It’s not much different than the late night infomercials promising the same thing for only 3 payments of $39.99.  But wait there’s more!

I think sometimes people are genuinely interested in whether of not some supplements can give them an edge, and others are just looking for an easy way out.  There’s nothing like seeing a 16 year old kid who weighs 150 pounds soaking wet, coming in to the gym, slamming back some N.O. Explode (an “energy igniter”) and then doing 12 bicep curls in between sets of flexing in the mirror.

You don’t have to search too far to find people that will swear by these products, and that’s fine, I have no issue with that.  I just think that people would be better served spending that money on a bottle of water or a bag of spinach.

Anyway, back to my original point.  There are a few things I recommend clients picking up.  One of them is fish oil.  I know, I know, I know, you’re thinking-NASTY!  Fish oil pills from the days of old actually tasted like fish and left you burping up a nice fish flavored bubble of gas every 6 minutes.  Let me just say, they’re just a little bit better now.  In fact, I’ve bought several different brands over the last few years and haven’t had any issues with flavor.  (Not to say they aren’t out there.)

Fish oil is made up of Omega-3 fatty acids which I’m sure you know are associated with a host of benefits for the human body, including:

-lowering triglyceride levels

-reducing inflammation

-anti-aging benefits

-body fat reduction

While the triglyceride and anti-aging benefits are great, due to my perspective as a trainer, I’m most interested in the reduction of inflammation and the body fat reduction.  It’s important to note that if you’re looking to lose 20+ pounds, taking fish oil while sitting on your butt all day and eating whatever you happen to stick in your face wont get you anywhere at all.  And I don’t have people take fish oil until they have the basics down-eating real food, drinking water, etc. It’s not a cure all for body fat, but when people are training hard and eating right, it can give them an advantage.

If someone is trying to get really really lean, like for an up coming vacation or something, I recommend they take two pills, three times a day.  For those just maintaining, I recommend two pills in the morning.

Give them a shot.  The benefits are really worth it!

 

4 thoughts on “The Best Supplement Money Can Buy

  1. Thanks to all your genius advice I just went out and bought some fish oil pills and they didn’t taste like fish at all. Yay!! PS They are on sale at Rite Aid right now. Buy One Get one Free!!

Leave a Reply

