Introduction 101

When you spend your time talking about, reading up on and researching certain subjects, you tend to forget that other people may not be as familiar as you are on said subjects.  For example, my sister is an accountant.  She (thankfully) does my taxes every year.  When she talks to me about all the different deductions I can take for my business as well as other ways she can help me out on the tax-front, I tend to get a little glassy-eyed and let out a little whimper.  I usually have no idea what she is talking about.  One could argue that the reason is that I have the cognition abilities of a 3rd grader who spends more time eating crayons than doing school work, but I would like to think that it’s because I don’t spend any of my time learning about tax-type things, while my sister does-every day.  On the plus side, she sees me getting a bit overwhelmed and breaks things down for me so I can grasp what she’s saying.

I see the same thing happen with my own clients.  I can start talking about scapular stability, macro-nutrient manipulation, or anterior pelvic tilt and be met with the same look that I give my sister, and a response of “What’s that?”.

The other day I was having lunch with some friends, and one of them was asking me some nutrition questions.  I was discussing some things about carbohydrate manipulation, when she stated “I think I need some clarification on what a carb is”, and my brain went *DING DING DING*.


From that conversation, a new idea for a series of blogs was born.  My thought was that a blog series titled “101” might be helpful.  This will give basic information about various topics such as Carbohydrate 101, Protein 101, etc.  While this doesn’t have to be limited to food topics, I think I will start there.

What I’m asking of you then is what other things would be helpful for you to have basic information on?  Leave your ideas in the comments section below and I’ll do my best to give you a “101” on them.  As long as it’s not tax preparation.

 

4 thoughts on “Introduction 101

  1. I’d love more info on how many calories you burn doing different exercises. Hard to calculate how much I burn when I run, bike, lift, etc…factoring this info with my food intake makes a big difference.

  2. What a great idea! I am very interested in the nutrition piece because that is where I struggle the most. Thanks for thinking of us.

  3. Pingback: Everybody doesn’t have ONE body « Michael Gray

Leave a Reply

