I hope you all had as good of a weekend as I did.  We finally got several hours of sun as well as a temperature around 50 degrees here Saturday.  And it…was…awesome.  My wife and I took our dog for a walk Saturday afternoon and found ourselves stopping at intersections and turning our faces towards the sun.  It felt so good to finally get some sunlight.

We also watched two excellent movies.  The Town and Inception.  The Town was much different than I thought it would be, but still rocked.  I’ve always had a hard time with Ben Afflek because I see him as O’Bannion from Dazed and Confused, and I hated that guy.  But he did a fantastic job.

Holy crap, Inception was awesome!  One of the best movies I’ve seen in a while.  Visually it was incredible, and it had a great story to boot.  Yup, I just said “to boot”.  Have any of you seen it?  So at the end, was his totem starting to wobble?  Cuz, it looked like it was wobbling.  Was it going to stop spinning, or was it going to just keep going?  Was he still in a dream?  Were those really his kids? AHHHHH!!!!!!!!  SO many questions!


Seriously though, if you haven’t seen it-watch it.

At some point on Saturday, I was doing a bit of work while watching Create TV on PBS.  ( I swear, that is my favorite channel.) A show that was based in Philadelphia came on that I hadn’t seen before.  The basic premise of the show was “cooking healthy”.  I was interested.  The first recipe the host was making was called “Where’s The Beef Stew?”  Basically it was a meatless stew.  I’m a fan of meat, but I was interested in what she had to say.

Then she lost me.

She started going on and on about the negative health impacts meat has on our bodies, particularly saturated fat.  After my wife asked me why I was screaming at the TV, I calmed down a bit.  But seriously why, years after science has proved otherwise, are people still saying that saturated fat is bad for heart health?  And to top it all off, she used seitan instead of beef.  Seitan is basically a glob of gluten.

After her beef-less beef stew disaster, she was suddenly in a training studio talking with Trainer Lorenzo about the benefits of exercise.  (Could she redeem herself?)  Trainer Lorenzo (who gave me the creeps…mostly because I don’t think he ever opened his eyes) was helping the host “tone and firm” her triceps with some ridiculous exercises with weights that look like they might weigh as much as half a can of soup.

The host asked “what about the weight?  Does it matter how much I use?”

(Time stopped.  I was so hoping I wouldn’t hear some garbage come from Lorenzo’s mouth.)

He replied, “The weight is nothing.  Form is everything.”

I wept.  Seriously broke down in tears.  My wife had to hold me while I sobbed in the fetal position.

I agree with the fact that form is critical, but to say that the weight is nothing is ridonkulous. (That isn’t a typo.)  If weight doesn’t matter, then why did he give her a weight at all? I tell you what, do a bicep curl with no weight for the next four years.  Use perfect form but no weight.  Let me know how much muscle development you get out of that.

It’s no wonder people are so confused.  When experts like “Miss Silly-From-Philly” and Trainer “my-eyes-don’t-open” Lorenzo spew fact-less non-sense, people take it as fact.

I don’t want to come off as arrogant about this, but the fact is-I do my research.  I don’t take exercise and health information at face value.  If that was the case I would be training all my clients today with no weight and without ever opening my eyes.  Most trainers you see on TV have a “secret” that only they know.  It’s a hook.  A selling point. It intrigues people.  They think, “Maybe if I find out his secret, I can finally get in shape.”  They wonder if this trainer finally has the answer to their question, “How do I get in shape?”

I think my clients would agree that the only “secret” I have is-“Work hard.  Eat right.”

And that will always be the only answer.

If you’ve found this post informative, insightful or just plain hilarious, feel free to share it on Facebook, or forward it to a friend.  Your support is appreciated!

