Yesterday, a friend of mine showed me this website, http://www.gymidiots.com.  It’s worth checking out.  It has several videos of people either doing ridiculous things in the gym, or being stupid and getting hurt while lifting weights.  Both are things that make me laugh.

I mentioned a few weeks ago, in a Random Friday blog, that I think a lot of people are like frogs, but never really expanded on that statement.

I thought I should explain myself.

I remember hearing in high school that you could put a frog in a pot of cold water, put it on the stove and turn the stove to high.  While the temperature rose, the frog would sit calmly in the pot.  Eventually, the water would begin to boil, but the frog would remain calm in the bottom of the pot, unaware of the fact that unless it changed its circumstances, it would die.

Sadly, a lot of people are like this.  Their fitness level and overall health slowly decline year after year and, because it is gradual, they don’t notice it too much.  A few pounds here, a few aches and pains there; they slowly gain weight, lose mobility and in general feel worse, but accept it because its just they way things are.

This is what frogs do.  If they had the cognitive abilities, they might think “Is it getting warm in here?”  People say, “I think my pants are getting tighter,”  (Psst…that’s what happens when you sit on your butt every night watching TV and eat a box of Twinkies for dessert), but they don’t give it too much thought.  They just buy bigger pants, take some pain killers and keep doing what they’ve been doing.  In other words, they stay in the pot.  (I said in, not on.)

I want you to take a moment and give yourself an honest look.  Are you worse off than you were a year ago, or five years ago?  Are you steadily gaining weight?  Do your knees and hips ache more than they did when you were 5 years younger?  If so, guess what?  You’re waters boiling…

If this is the case, you need to wake up and give yourself a serious reality check.  Situations do not change themselves.  Your aches and pains aren’t going to magically disappear one day.  You’re not going to wake up one morning 20 pounds lighter.  You have to actually do something about it.  You have to take some initiative and get out of the pot.

I turned 30 last September.  And I have to say, I feel better than I ever have.  I’m stronger than I’ve ever been and my goal every year is to be in better shape then the previous year.  Why wouldn’t someone want that?  Who wants to get weaker or softer every year?

It takes action.

The frog’s water isn’t going to stop boiling on its own.

Yours isn’t either.

 

