The dangers of regular soda consumption

Happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day!

I’m letting a picture speak for me today.  Sorry it’s a little blurry.  I did my best to make it clear, but it’s still definitely worth reading.  In case you are unable to read it here is a multiple choice question to lead you in the right direction.

Soda:

a) eats away at your tooth enamel

b) can cause asthma and eczema

c) has been linked with obesity and heart disease

d) has been linked with kidney issues and diabeties

e) all of the above

HINT: It’s not a,b ,c or d.

I’ll admit that I have a soda once in a while, but it’s a couple a month-tops.  However, the truth of the matter is that a huge percentage of people drink soda on a regular basis.  With every lunch or dinner…or both.  I know people who have several a day.  I also know that teenagers drink soda more than any other beverage.  I hope you take the time to read the above picture.  And I hope you take the information seriously and begin to cut soda out of your regular diet.

Have a good Monday!

3 thoughts on “The dangers of regular soda consumption

  1. Mike, I heard once, years ago, that carbonation can also break down muscle tissue. Do you know anything about that… like if it’s TRUE? I think it was my brothers’ high school wrestling coach that preached that, and I can’t vouch for his expertise on the subject. But I do remember the punishment for a wrestler who drank soda AT ALL during their season was pretty rough. Was it something about what it does to oxygen in the blood and that somehow muscle tissue?

    • Sarah, I haven’t ever heard that. I spent some time trying to find some answers, and got no where. Pub Med didn’t even have any results for a search of “carbonation and muscles” or “carbonation and strength”. I know that soda (whether it be the carbonation, high fructose corn syrup, sugar or combination of the three) can greatly impact performance, which would result in less than optimal or maximal results in the long term. My best guess (and this is totally a guess) is that your brother’s wrestling coach was either misinformed or using a craft technique to keep his athletes from drinking soda.

Leave a Reply

