Good Reads

I thought I would do something a bit different today and go completely off topic.  Instead of writing about stuff that’s training/fitness/health/awesome based, I thought I would do a “Good Reads” post on some of the best books I have ever read.  I know, I know, this is supposed to be a blog that helps you get stronger, leaner and healthier.  Well I believe that a good book is good for the soul and mind, so theres my tie in.

Siddhartha by Herman Hesse.  I first read this book in high school and I was captivated.  It’s a story about youth and spirituality and the struggle we all have within ourselves.

This Is Your Brain On Music by Daniel Levitin.  I’ve mentioned this book before, and although I’m not completely through it, it…is…awesome.  If you have any interest in music at all, check it out.

-Any Calvin and Hobbes books by Bill Watterson.  I find it very refreshing to, at times, read something that’s on a 3rd or 4th grade level.  Very little thinking, entertaining, and hilarious; Calvin and Hobbes always delivers.


Ishmael by Daniel Quinn.  I came across this book as a recommendation from a newsletter written by Eddie Vedder.  If you don’t know who that is, we’re not friends for the next 10 minutes.  This book challenged just about every belief I have ever had.

Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell.  The tag line for this book is “Repainting the Christian Faith.”  It’s an incerdibly good read.

Of course there are many more that I would put on this list, but these are some of my top pics.  How about any of you?  Any good books that you would recommend to the rest of us?  Leave suggestions in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

