Random Thursday (Holiday Edition)

With tomorrow being Christmas Eve, I don’t have any intentions of posting.  In fact, I’ll be on vacation all next week and wont be posting until the new year.  (Try not to miss me too much.)  So, today’s random post will be extra special.  ( I have no idea what that means, but maybe by just saying it’s special, it will seem that way.)

Here we go:

-I am a big fan of “street art”.  This is basically a form of art that is borderline illegal, and comes pretty close to graffiti, but certainly has become more and more popular in the last few years.

Artists like Banksy and Shepard Fairey, have become underground celebrities and are the forerunners of street art.  I watched a “documentary” last night that was produced by Banksy.  “Exit Through The Gift Shop” is a very interesting story about street art and its commercialization.  Although the validity of the movie is under question (many people think the whole thing is made up, which would certainly be characteristic of Banksy) I still thought it was a fascinating movie and would recommend it if anyone has any interest in street art.

-I heard a good quote the other day.  “It’s a HoliDAY, not a HoliWEEK.”  Remember that this weekend.  On Christmas Day, enjoy what you want…eat some pie…have seconds or thirds…it’s really OK.  But when the holiDAY is over, get back on track.  Don’t use Christmas as an excuse to stuff your face for a week and a half, all while telling yourself you’re going to get back on track at the new year.

-I’m flying to Houston on Christmas Day to be with my wife’s family.  I have to say I’m incredibly thankful for my ipod and my laptop.  I flew down there on Christmas Day last year and I swear every other seat on the plane had a screaming kid in it.  Now, I understand it’s not the kid’s fault, but after listening to that for about 12 minutes, seeing if my shirt will work as a parachute seems like a good idea.

-Since I’ve mentioned it a few times, my knee is feeling better.  I deadlifted fairly heavy on Monday and did some heavier squats yesterday, and I haven’t had any problems with it.

-A quick reminder, I’m running specials on all of my training packages through the New Year.

-2011 is going to hit the ground running for me.  I’ve already taken on several new clients for the new year.  I fully intend to keep posting Monday through Friday, but I’m not sure how it’s all going to pan out at this point.  There may be an “adjustment curve” for me as I fine tune a busier schedule.

-Lastly, thank you to all of you who have been faithful readers of this blog.  In the last 3+ months, this has grown in ways I never expected.  I have had nearly 5,000 visitors, hundreds of comments, gone international and have had complete strangers seeking me out for help on getting more fit.  It has been incredibly exciting!  I know I’ve said this before, but the fact that people are actually interested in my ramblings is very humbling.  Again, a huge thank you to all of you for reading and spreading the word about this blog!

Have a good holiday season and I’ll see you in 2011!

Leave a Reply

