Last week I posted my thoughts (as well as the thoughts of some very well respected researchers) on the benefits, or lack there of, of toning shoes.  Basically, while people may think they are comfortable and might feel like there is some muscle stimulation at first, they really aren’t worth the money.  The certainly don’t hold up to their claims.  They wont give you a nice calves, they wont strengthen your legs and they wont give you an awesome butt.  When I first saw these, my initial thought was that they were complete crap (at least as far as the claims they make), but I understand how people can buy into the marketing pitch.  After all, the commercials are pretty convincing.  But, if the toning shoes weren’t bad enough, I saw this ad last Saturday:

I am honestly blown away by this.  I know that there have been ridiculous “fitness” products being sold for years and years.  But, for the most part they are marketed by companies that are more interested in making a quick buck off of their infomercials rather than put out a product that could actually benefit someones life.  But the Easytone Apparel is marketed by Reebok.  A well respected athletic company.  A sponsor of many professional, world class athletes. Shame, shame, shame.

I don’t think people realize how hard it is to gain strength.  As I’ve mentioned before, using 3-5 lb. dumbbells for everything wont cut it.  If that’s the case, then wearing a shirt or a pair of pants that have “resistance” built in to them certainly wont cut it either.  My guess is that this apparel is more like wearing a shirt that’s been heavily starched than strength training.

This kind of product is the reason that the fitness industry has such a bad name.  Worthless products flood the market, people get ZERO results and the industry becomes known for being a total joke.  While trainers who take their jobs very seriously (such as myself) work tirelessly to overcome the notion that people can make gains with little-to-no effort, but get laughed at and asked when they’re going to get a “real” job.  Needless to say, I take products like these a little personally because I get lumped in to the same category.  I guess that’s why I feel the need to call these kind of things out.

I know I say this all the time, but I don’t think it can be said enough; please don’t count on some product to get you in to shape.  Only you can do that.  And it takes hard work, dedication and a whole lot of sweat.

