How good is the information you’re getting?

I saw the following video about a week ago and it really got me thinking.  I decided to blog on my thoughts on it today.  Before I continue, here’s the video.

The part that struck me the most was this sentence, “There will be no equipment and it will take up your time.”  Ian King (the dude talking) makes a fantastic point on both the consumer of fitness products and the marketer.  And the point doesn’t feel too good.

My first thought was, “Yup, the typical American consumer wants to purchase something that gives them the promise of great results in limited time.”  Because if it’s free it can’t possibly have much value, right?  But after stewing on this for a few days, I think this point was minor compared to the subtle comment he’s making on the marketing side of things.  (At least to me it was subtle.)

Ian is saying that his “idea” for a product would never fly because there is no product (nothing to sell) and the need of instant gratification isn’t met (it’s going to take a lot of time.)

Follow this train of thought with me for a moment.  If ideas and thoughts that can’t be sold or that don’t gratify instantly never make it to market, then we can assume that only products which can be sold and gratify instantly will be marketed.  (I know that’s pretty obvious.)  But if that is the case, then we are only being “sold” ideas/thoughts/products that people can make money off of and can be sold as “quick acting”.  (I know it sounds like I’m saying the same thing over and over, but bear with me.)  So if that is the case, then one of two things are true.  Either 1. Only ideas that can be sold and take little time have any value to your fitness goals. Or, 2. A great deal of valuable information is being withheld due to the fact that people can’t make money off of it and it takes too long.

I have a hard time believing that information that can’t be sold and takes time, has no value.  (For crying out loud what is this blog all about-free information.  And how often do I preach about consistency?)  So all this leaves us is, the latter.  Keeping all this in mind, here is my question.  If we’re only being sold things that can be bought and take little time, how valuable and well-rounded is the information we’re getting?

My guess is not very good.  When late night television screams “8 minute abs at you,” the video might be lacking a bit.  When a magazine (which you purchased) tells you you can drop a dress size this week, it may not be the best/safest way to do that.

This is the very reason I have such great respect for the people who’s blogs I read.  (See my blogroll to the left.)  Everyday I get access to a ton of free information.  These people are titans in the fitness industry and they shell out all kinds of free info day after day after day.  In fact, this is the reason that I wanted to start a blog of my own.  I was sick of the crappy information that I was reading everywhere.

Sure some of these people have products that they sell.  In fact, I actually purchased one of them not too long ago.  Eric Cressey’s “Show and Go.”  But here’s the big difference: A great deal of the information included, I’ve seen on his blog, for free.  Also, the program is 16 weeks of training programs, 5 workouts a week, and 3 of the workouts take between 60-75 minutes.  No instant gratification there.  (By the way, it is an awesome product.)

Be wary of the “marketing”.  Be smart and don’t dismiss information that is freely dispensed.  In fact, seek it out.  And if someone/something  in anyway speaks to instant gratification, run…

One thought on “How good is the information you’re getting?

Leave a Reply

