An announcement and an exercise you should be doing: Walking Spidermans with Overhead Reach

I have a bit of a big announcement to make.  Well, it’s not that big, but I’m pretty psyched about it.  As of yesterday, Gray Fitness Systems LLC is an official business in the state of Oregon.  Although that is the technical title of the business, I will operate as simply Gray Fitness.

No, no, no…really the applause isn’t necessary.

For those of you that have known me for any length of time, the idea of me owning my own business might be laughable, frightening, surprising.  It’s a bit surprising for me as well, if I’m being completely honest.

I’m in the midst of having a logo designed, getting new business cards, re-working the blog, etc.  Needless to say, there’s a lot going on in my camp with this new development.  Which is all very exciting!

I’ve talked a lot about the importance of a dynamic warm-up.  Preparing the body for movement sets the tone for the rest of your training session.  Also, not being properly warmed up is a good way to injure yourself as well as not get as much out of a session.

Here is a one of my favorite warm-up moves that I’ve been incorporating into my clients sessions lately.

Walking Spidermans with Overhead Reach:

These are great for warming up the hamstrings as well as opening up the hips and chest.

Cues:

-Take a generous step forward and a bit to the outside of your body.

-Drop back knee all the way to the ground and place hands on the floor inside the front foot.

-Raise opposite hand of forefoot (if right foot is forward, raise left hand and vice-versa) towards the ceiling.

-As you raise your hand, turn your head to look towards the celing as well as open up your chest.

-Return hand to floor and move into the next step.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “An announcement and an exercise you should be doing: Walking Spidermans with Overhead Reach

  1. Congrats on Grays Fitness. I have discovered that any exercise with the word “spiderman” in it is guarenteed soreness. Even this “warm-up” you speak of.

  2. I groaned too. But then I saw that it wasn’t as bad as your Supercalafragilistic Spidermans (YOU know what I’m talking about), so I’m cool with it. This looks like a good warm up. I’m doing it tonight!

Leave a Reply

