“Doctor” does something stupid, townspeople rejoice.

I was sent this article a few days a go, and I have to say, very few things in the health and fitness industry have made me this upset.  I’m not going to go into great detail about the article so take a few minutes and read it here.  It’s pretty short and so is the accompanying video.

Where to begin?

First off, why why why would anyone have something sewn to their tongue to keep them from eating?!?!?!

I’m going to opt for a few very short(ish) statements on this instead of going into a diatribe (which is what I want to do).

1.  Before you do any kind of “weight loss” thingamajig, do this for me: say what you are planning to do outloud.  If it sounds completely rediculous, don’t do it.  Let’s take this article for example:

“I’m going to have a patch sewn onto my tongue that makes it painful for me to eat, so I can lose weight by starving myself.”

Ridiculous? Check.

Or how about the hCG diet?

“I’m going to give myself injections of a pregnancy hormone and eat like I’m in a third world country.”

Ridiculous? (I really hope I don’t have to answer that one.)

The sad thing is, I’m sure this doctor is getting a lot of business for this.  And I’m sure it will be duplicated by other doctors looking to make some easy money.  Bottom line, people are actualy doing this.  Why am I not surprised that I’m not surprised?

2.  Then of course we have the “doctor”.  You know, the guy who swore to “first do no harm.”  How could anyone with any self-respect perform this procedure?  Does he not realize that once he removes the patch, his patients are going to gain all their weight back, if not more?  (By the way, I love how he tries to make it all OK by saying “I only leave it on for a month.”  Oh, well in that case sew away!!!)

3.  I believe that this article really speaks to the “immediacy” of our culture.  We want what we want and we want it now.  This is never more true than when it comes to weight loss.  Look at the girl in the video, she wants to lose weight for the Latin Grammy’s and she “doesn’t care how” she loses it.  The mindset here is “if I lose weight then everything will be better.”  But what about after the patch is taken off?  What about after you stop injecting yourself with hCG?  What about after you stop doing the crazy thing you’re doing?  Well, it all comes back with a vengeance.  Because you really haven’t changed any behaviors.  You’ve got what you ant as quickly as possible with no thought put into what comes next.  And when this happens, what comes next is disastrous.

Remember: being healthy and fit isn’t a crash course, it’s along game.  It’s something you’re always doing.  It’s a way of life, not an event.

One thought on ““Doctor” does something stupid, townspeople rejoice.

Leave a Reply

