This weekend, I attended the Boise Health and Fitness Fair.  I had never been to this before, so I had no idea what to expect.  In fact, I had never been to any kind of  fitness expo, so the whole experience was brand new to me.  There were several thoughts I had coming away from the expo that I thought I would share with you all.

So here they are: the good, the bad and the ugly.

(Seriously, when was the last time you saw a movie poster that was this awesome?)

The good:

-This being my first time going to the Health and Fitness Fair, I was definitely excited to see what it had to offer.  Right off the bat I got a free bag with all kinds of stuff in it.  Granted I have since thrown most of it away because it was junk, but there a few things I’ve held on to: a couple of magazines that have some decent information in them, and a stress ball that my dog is loving chewing up.

-Honestly, one of the main reasons I wanted to attend the fair was to look for some networking opportunities.  Right after I was handed the goodie bag, I ran into a young chiropractor.  His booth caught my eye because he had a video demonstrating something that looked like the Graston technique. (A technique I’ve been reading a lot for a while about and I think has a lot of promise to help a lot of people feel better.  And yes I just said “a lot” three times in one sentence.)  He and I talked for quite a while, and I came to find out he has developed his own tools to accomplish the same thing that Graston does, it’s just a little more cost efficient.  And I love the fact that this guy developed his own tools for it.  To me that shows initiative, which separates the great from average.  We had a great conversation and I’m hoping to do an interview with him for the blog.  So be looking for that.

-There were a couple booths for places that specialize in fitness for children.  Huge fan of that!  Even at a young age, kids can learn to move properly and more effeciently.  Plus if our kids learn that exercising can be fun, maybe they wont have childhood diabetes and be insulin dependent by the time they’re 12.

-My wife wound up getting her flu shot, which she had been meaning to do.

The bad:

-Not that this was really bad, maybe more odd.  I had a hard time placing the retirement home and make-up booths.  They just seemed a bit out of place to me.

-There were a couple booths promoting “new” supplements that would provide me with “all the vitamins and nutrients I’m not getting in my diet.”  To which I replied, “No thanks.  I eat real food, so I’m good.”  The completely confused looks on their faces at this comment was my cue to politely walk away.

-I’ve never understood people who are out of shape selling products to get people in shape.  That one has never made sense to me.

The ugly:

-There really wasn’t a certain instance that I would define as “ugly”, but I would say there was a definite underlying current that I wasn’t a fan of.  To be honest, at times I felt like I was in infomercial hell.  Surrounded by people trying to sell their latest and greatest product that was sure to get me in shape better than anyone else’s.  I really hate that.  No wonder so many people don’t take the fitness industry seriously.  It’s akin to the medicine men that would travel around in the old west, selling complete crap under the guise that it was a miracle cure.

“The quickest”, “The fastest”, “The easiest”.  These terms really turned me off.  It would have been great to see a booth that was honest.  A booth that said, “This health stuff isn’t easy and you certainly never arrive.  It’s a journey that you are always on.”  Or how about a booth that said, “Today, we are selling hard work and commitment”?  Maybe next year I’ll set one up with before and after pics and say “See this guy, this took months of hard work and eating right to accomplish…oh, and he didn’t take any of these other guys supplements either.”  I’m sure I would get lots of visitors.

All in all, I’m glad I went.  Even though there were some frustrating things, there were some that were very good.  And my wife and I had a good time.  It was a good experience, as well as a good reminder to me that the fundamentals of fitness will always reign supreme!

