Yesterday

I have to admit, yesterday was a really good day.

-First of all, I rarely sleep well and usually don’t get more than 6 hours a night.  But Sunday night I found myself in bed around 9:00 and was out like a light.  I woke up 8 hours later and felt fantastic.  Always a good way to start a Monday.

-Then, of course, I got to go to a job I absolutely love and train awesome clients.

-A female client of mine busted out 3 (almost complete) pullups.  She was so stinkin’ close it was crazy.  She just needed to get a bit more extension in her arms at the bottom.  But still, it was impressive and I know she’s going to get there very soon.

Let’s see…what else?

-My wife and I had lunch with my aunt and her partner who were visiting from out of town.  We had some incredibly interesting conversations, and as always it was great to spend some time with them.

-I did a bunch of foam rolling, glute activation, some Overhead Medicine Ball Throws and some heavy deadlift singles.

Hmmm…

It seems like there was something else…

What was it?

-Oh yeah, and I TOTALLY DOMINATED 365!!!

OK, I didn’t totally dominate it, but I got it up!

I think that might be the slowest single rep I’ve ever seen.  It certainly didn’t look like I thought it would.  (By the way, I have no idea what the deal is with the hand shaking thing)  I really didn’t envision a 9 second, grinding-it-out rep.  But you know what, I really don’t care because I achieved the goal I set out for myself, and that is a really good feeling!


11 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. Mick…no wonder the deadlift is called a “slow lift”!
    Congrats on nailing 365#!…That was truly impressive…Solid form, too!
    So do tell…how many times did you count…re-count, add and double-add the plates?

    • Haha…being notorious for miscounting my weights, I actually went in to the day having already figured out (about 10 times) what I would need for 365. But this one was pretty easy-3 45’s and a 25 on each side. But I did double check it a few times! Thanks Dean!

  2. Pingback: Exercises you should be doing: Inchworms « Michael Gray

  3. Pingback: Exercises you should be doing: Squat to Stand W/ Thoracic Mobility « Michael Gray

Leave a Reply

