In honor of my now being an old man (I turned 30 last Sunday), I’m offering a 30% discount to the first 5 people to sign up for program design/distant coaching.  Check out the my services page for more information, and contact me for further questions and details.

Earlier this morning I was reading Eric Cressey’s blog.  He was discussing the importance of accountability when it comes to training and goals.  His basic premise was that when you make a goal public, you are much more likely to achieve that goal due to the fact that others are aware of it and can keep you accountable to that goal.

For example, last February I made the goal of adding 90 lbs to my deadlift by January 1st, 2011 (from 315 to 405).  I told several people that I know will hold me to my goal, as well as make fun of me if I don’t achieve that goal.

I can’t tell you how that simple act has changed my approach to my deadlifting goal.  The fact that people are aware of it has kept me very focused, and has kept me working hard even when I didn’t feel like it.  It’s kept me focused on getting that “one more rep” even when I really didn’t want to.

Since February I have gone from 315 to 340 (actual), although I think I’m more likely around the 350-ish range.  That’s only 35 pounds out of my 90.  I still have a ways to go, and there is a chance that I might not make it.  But I can tell you this, whether or not I get to 405 as soon as I want to, the fact that I made my goal public (and even more so now) has helped me stay committed to it.  If I had made this goal to myself, and only me, it would be easy to give up on.  Or, at least severely postpone.

So my question is this.  What are you goals?

-Drop two dress sizes?

-Do a legit push up?

-Run a marathon?

-Add 50 pounds to your squat?

Take a big step and post them in the comments below.

Make them public.

Tell your friends about them.

Stay focused.

I can’t wait to hear what you hope to accomplish!  (Oh, and unlike my friends, I promise not to make fun of you if you don’t meet them as soon as you would like)

