Welcome

First off, I want to say thanks for taking the time to visit my new blog.  I appreciate it greatly.  I’m really excited about this new venture.  Being a constant student of fitness and health, this gives me an avenue to reach a broader audience than just family, friends and those that I train.

That being said, let me give you an idea of what you can expect from me on a regular basis:

-Expect for me to try to convince you to like the same things I like that may just be more beneficial for your strength and physique than things you are currently doing (i.e. stabilization based ab exercises rather than sit-ups and crunches; and interval training rather than steady state cardio.)

-Expect for me to try to discourage you from doing things that may be damaging to your strength and physique goals (i.e. eating “diet” food, silly and pointless exercises, and lifting weights that are way to light to do anything for your body.)

-I will, frequently, encourage women to quit listening to heath “experts” that tell them to lift light weights and eat like they live in a third world country and instead, eat more than they currently are and lift a lot more weight than they ever thought they could And no, you will not…will not…WILL NOT “bulk up”.

-I will most likely too often talk about deadlifting, why it’s so awesome and why just about everyone should do it. But really, can you talk about deadlifting too much?

-I will encourage people to get off machines and actually move their bodies.  I will encourage people to learn to move their bodies in ways that are not only healthy and safe, but also corrective in nature, thus making you feel a whole lot better.

-I will provide you with information from people that are a great deal more smarter-ish than I will ever be.

-I will give you testimonies from my own clients who are continually proving that working hard and eating well are absolutely worth it.

…and of course, all of this will be peppered with my undying wit and charm.

That’s what I will do.  What I ask of you, the reader, is to simply…read.  Let me know what you want me to write about.  Let me know what resonates with you and what doesn’t.  Push back when something seems to challenge everything you’ve ever heard about fitness.

Please, feel free to sign up for automatic updates in your e-mail.  There’s a little box on the top right of this page.  And feel free to pass along any info you find beneficial to your friends and family, or just give them the web address (www.michaelgrayfitness.wordpress.com) if you feel that I continue to put out worth while content.

Thanks again for taking the time to visit this page.  Here’s to your health!

Michael

4 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Sounds pretty great, and I’ll be tuning in. Just a small question, though:

    Have you ever heard of the “Nutrition Diva”? If so, what do you think of the stuff she publishes and the advice she gives?

    • Thanks for checking it out Colby. I had never heard of her before you mentioned her. I checked out her website and for the most part I agreed with what I read. I did notice that in one tip she stated something along the lines of recommending margarine instead of butter. I don’t ever recommend manufactured/processed foods over natural ones, even if they are lower in calories. But like I said, I’m pretty unfamiliar with her. Just spent about 10 minutes perusing her website.

  2. Great Job on the blog Michael, I like your initial entry very much. I agree with you….You cannot talk about deadlifting too much. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

